Topic Coordinators

Area A: Functional Materials

Area coordinators:
Lindsay Greer (Univ. Cambridge, UK) - alg13@cam.ac.uk
Paula Vilarinho (Univ. Aveiro, PT) - paula.vilarinho@ua.pt

A1: Emerging Topics

A1.1: Materials for Energy Harvesting

Sohini Kar-Narayan (Univ. Cambridge, UK) - sk568@cam.ac.uk
David Muñoz-Rojas (Lab. Matér. Génie Physique, Grenoble INP-CNRS, FR) - David.Munoz-Rojas@grenoble-inp.fr
Albert Tarancón (Catalonia Institute for Energy Research, IREC, Barcelona, ES) - atarancon@irec.cat

A1.2: Active Soft Materials

Samuel Sánchez (Max-Planck-Inst. for Intelligent Systems, Stuttgart, DE) - sanchez@is.mpg.de
Stoyan Smoukov (Univ. Cambridge, UK) - sks46@cam.ac.uk

A1.3: Functional Nanostructures and Self-Assembled Materials

Luís Carlos (Univ. Aveiro, PT) - lcarlos@ua.pt
Rute A. S. Ferreira (Univ. Aveiro, PT) - rferreira@ua.pt
Marek Grzelczak (CIC biomaGUNE, San Sebastián, ES) - mgrzelczak@cicbiomagune.es
Luis Liz-Marzán (Univ. Vigo, ES) - llizmarzan@cicbiomagune.es

A2: Carbon-Based Materials

Topic coordinators:
Eric Anglaret (Univ. Montpellier, FR) - eric.anglaret@univ-montp2.fr
Juan Vilatela (IMDEA Materials, Madrid, ES) - juanjose.vilatela@imdea.org

A2.1: Composites with nanocarbon reinforcement and other nanofillers

Eric Anglaret (Univ. Montpellier, FR) - eric.anglaret@univ-montp2.fr
Ian Kinloch (Univ. Manchester, UK) - Ian.Kinloch@manchester.ac.uk
Tadeusz Spychaj (West Pomeranian Univ. Technology, Szczecin, PL) - Tadeusz.Spychaj@zut.edu.pl
Wlodek Strupinski (Inst. Electronic Materials Technol., Warsaw, PL) - wlodek.strupinski@itme.edu.pl
Juan Vilatela (IMDEA Materials, Madrid, ES) - juanjose.vilatela@imdea.org

Area B: Structural Materials

Area coordinators:
Jürgen Hirsch (DE) - Juergen.Hirsch@hydro.com
Małgorzata Lewandowska (TU Warsaw, PL) - malew@inmat.pw.edu.pl

B1: Advanced Metals

B1.1: Lightweight (Al, Mg, Ti-based) Alloys

Jürgen Hirsch (DE) - Juergen.Hirsch@hydro.com
Phil Prangnell (Univ. of Manchester, UK) - philip.prangnell@manchester.ac.uk
Joe Robson (Univ. of Manchester, UK) - joseph.d.robson@manchester.ac.uk

B1.2: New Trends in Design and Development of Advanced Steels

Francisca G. Caballero (CENIM, Madrid, ES) - fgc@cenim.csic.es
Carlos Capdevila (CENIM, Madrid, ES) - ccm@cenim.csic.es
Wiesław Świątnicki (Warsaw Univ. of Technology, PL) - wswiatni@inmat.pw.edu.pl

B1.3: Metallic Glasses, Rapid Solidification, Nanocrystallization

Galina Abrosimova (Inst. of Solid State Physics, Russian Acad. of Sci., Chernogolovka, RU) - gea@issp.ac.ru
Alexander Aronin (Inst. of Solid State Physics, Russian Acad. of Sci., Chernogolovka, RU) - aronin@issp.ac.ru
Mariana Calin (IFW, Dresden, DE) - M.Calin@ifw-dresden.de

B2: Advanced Ceramics

Topic coordinators:
Marc Anglada (ETSEIB, Barcelona) - marc.J.anglada@upc.edu
Anne Leriche (LMCPA, Univ. Valenciennes) - anne.leriche@univ-valenciennes.fr

B2.1: Advanced synthesis methods for ceramic powders

Samuel Bernard (IEM Montpellier, FR) - samuel.bernard@univ-montp2.fr
Emanuel Ionescu (TU Darmstadt, DE) - ionescu@materials.tu-darmstadt.de

B2.2: Advanced Processing Methods for Ceramics

Jens Günster (TU Clausthal, DE) - jens.guenster@bam.de
Zhijian Shen (DMEC, Stockholm Univ., SE) - shen@mmk.su.se

B2.3: Advanced Ceramic Composites

René Pailler (LCTS, Univ. Bordeaux, FR) - pailler@lcts.u-bordeaux1.fr
Mike Pomeroy (Univ. Limerick, IE) - michael.pomeroy@ul.ie

B3: Composite and Hybrid Materials

Topic coordinators:
Werner Hufenbach (TU Dresden, DE) - ilk@ilk.mw.tu-dresden.de

B3.1: Composite Materials and Structures

Maik Gude (TU Dresden, DE) - m.gude@ilk.mw.tu-dresden.de
Tadeusz Uhl (AGH, Cracow, PL) - tuhl@agh.edu.pl

B3.2: Metal-Matrix Composites

Rajiv Asthana (Univ. Wisconsin Stout, USA) - asthanar@uwstout.edu
Jerzy Sobczak (Instytut Odlewnictwa, PL) - Sobczak@IOd.krakow.pl

Area C: Processing

Area coordinators:
Boris Straumal (Inst. Solid State Physics, Chernogolovka, RU) - straumal@issp.ac.ru
Pawel Zięba (Inst. Metallurgy and Materials Science, Cracow, PL) - p.zieba@imim.pl

C1: Severe Plastic Deformation and Nanostructuring

Topic coordinators:
Yulia Ivanisenko (KIT, Karlsruhe, DE) - julia.ivanisenko@kit.edu
Eberhard Kerscher (Univ. Kaiserslautern, DE) - kerscher@mv.uni-kl.de

C1.1: Severe Plastic Deformation and Nanostructuring

Andrea Bachmaier (Univ. des Saarlandes, DE) - a.bachmaier@matsci.uni-sb.de
Yulia Ivanisenko (KIT, Karlsruhe, DE) - julia.ivanisenko@kit.edu
Eberhard Kerscher (Univ. Kaiserslautern, DE) - kerscher@mv.uni-kl.de
Erhard Schafler (Univ. Vienna, AT) - erhard.schafler@univie.ac.at

C2: Joining and Interfaces

Topic coordinators:
Robert Filipek (Univ. AGH, Cracow, PL) - rof@agh.edu.pl
Jolanta Janczak-Rusch (EMPA, CH) - Jolanta.Janczak@empa.ch

C2.1: Joining Technologies

Ivan Kaban (IFW, Dresden, DE) - i.kaban@ifw-dresden.de
Joanna Wojewoda-Budka (Inst. Metallurgy and Materials Science, Cracow, PL) - j.wojewoda@imim.pl

C2.2: Interface Design and Modelling

Lars Jeurgens (EMPA, CH) - lars.jeurgens@empa.ch
Krzysztof Szyszkiewicz-Warzecha (Univ. AGH, Cracow, PL) - szyszkin@ceramrtr.ceramika.agh.edu.pl

C2.3: Wetting and High-Temperature Capillarity

Natalia Sobczak (Foundry Research Inst., Cracow, PL) - natalia.sobczak@iod.krakow.pl
Boris Straumal (Inst. Solid State Physics, Chernogolovka, RU) - straumal@issp.ac.ru

C3: Coatings and Surface Modification

Topic coordinators:
George Kiriakidis (Univ. Crete, GR) - kiriakid@iesl.forth.gr
Vladimir Vishnyakov (Univ. Huddersfield, UK) - v.vishnyakov@mmu.ac.uk

C3.1: Light-Induced Micro-Nano Surface Modification

Nadezhda Bulgakova (Inst. of Thermophysics, Russ. Acad. of Sciences, Novosibirsk, RU) - nbul@itp.nsc.ru
Maria Farsari (FORTH, Heraklion, GR) - mfarsari@iesl.forth.gr

C3.2: Assembly-Mediated and Surface-Based Coatings

Vassilis Binas (FORTH, Heraklion, GR) - binasbill@iesl.forth.gr
Alexandros Lappas (FORTH, Heraklion, GR) - lappas@iesl.forth.gr

C3.3: Advanced Surface Coating and Plating Techniques

Elias Aperathitis (FORTH, Heraklion, GR) - eaper@physics.uoc.gr
Ulf Jansson (Uppsala Univ., SE) - Ulf.Jansson@kemi.uu.se
Magnus Oden (Linköping Univ., SE) - magod@ifm.liu.se

C4: Phase transformations, Microstructure Evolution in Polycrystals and Additive Manufacturing

Topic coordinators:
Brigitte Baretzky (KIT, Karlsruhe, DE) - brigitte.baretzky@kit.edu

C4.1: Phase Stability and Phase Transformations

Anton Chyrkin (IEK, Jülich, DE) - a.chyrkin@fz-juelich.de
Olga Fabrichnaya (TU Bergakademie Freiberg, DE) - fabrich@ww.tu-freiberg.de

C4.2: Additive Manufacturing

Tomasz Czujko (Military University of Technology, Warsaw, PL) - tomasz.czujko@wat.edu.pl
Marek Polański (Military University of Technology, Warsaw, PL) - mpolanski@wat.edu.pl

C4.3: Materials for Printed Electronics

Subho Dasgupta (KIT, Karlsruhe, DE) - subho.dasgupta@kit.edu
Horst Hahn (KIT, Karlsruhe, DE) - horst.hahn@kit.edu

Area D: Characterization and Modelling

Area coordinators:
Eva Olsson (Chalmers Univ., Gothenburg, SE) - eva.olsson@chalmers.se
Michel Rappaz (EPFL, Lausanne, CH) - michel.rappaz@epfl.ch

D1: Imaging and Spectroscopy

Topic coordinators:
Wolfgang Jäger (Christian-Albrechts-Univ. zu Kiel, DE) - wolfgang.jaeger@tf.uni-kiel.de
Eva Olsson (Chalmers Univ., Gothenburg, SE) - eva.olsson@chalmers.se

D1.1: Imaging, Diffraction and Tomography

Sara Bals (EMAT, Univ. Antwerp, BE) - sara.bals@uantwerpen.be
Christophe Koch (Univ. Ulm, DE) - Christoph.Koch@uni-ulm.de
Velimir Radmilović (Univ. Belgrade, RS) - vrradmilovic@tmf.bg.ac.rs

D1.2: Spectroscopy

Anders Mikkelsen (Lund Univ., SE) - anders.mikkelsen@sljus.lu.se
Maria Varela (Univ. Complutense de Madrid, ES) - mvarela@ucm.es

D1.3: In-Situ Studies

Guus Rijnders (Univ. Twente, NL) - a.j.h.m.rijnders@utwente.nl
Etienne Snoeck (CEMES, CNRS, Toulouse, FR) - snoeck@cemes.fr

D2: Mechanical Characterization

Topic coordinators:
Javier Llorca (IMDEA Materials, Madrid, ES) - javier.llorca@imdea.org
Dierk Raabe (MPI Eisenforschung, Dusseldorf, DE) - d.raabe@mpie.de

D2.1: In-situ Micro- and Nano-Mechanical Characterization and Size Effects, High Throughput and Rapid Mechanical Testing

Jon Molina-Aldareguia (IMDEA Materials, Madrid, ES) - jon.molina@imdea.org
Cem Tasan (MPI Eisenforschung, Dusseldorf, DE) - c.tasan@mpie.de

D2.2: Interface-Related Damage and Failure

Philip Eisenlohr (Michigan State Univ., East Lansing, MI, USA) - eisenlohr@egr.msu.edu
Marc Geers (Univ. Eindhoven,NL) - m.g.d.geers@tue.nl
Irene J. Beyerlein (Los Alamos National Laboratory, US) - irene@lanl.gov

D2.3: Characterization of the Mechanical Aspects of Hydrogen Embrittlement, Corrosion and Environmental Degradation

Motomichi Koyama (Univ. Kyushu, Fukuoka, JP) - koyama@mech.kyushu-u.ac.jp
Hisao Matsunaga (Univ. Kyushu, Fukuoka, JP) - matsunaga.hisao.964@m.kyushu-u.ac.jp
Petros Sofronis (Univ. Illinois, Urbana, IL, US) - sofronis@illinois.edu

_D2.2: Symposium cancelled

D3: Materials Modelling on Different Length Scales

Topic coordinators:
Michel Rappaz (EPFL, Lausanne, CH) - michel.rappaz@epfl.ch

D3.1: Atomistic Modelling

Michele Ceriotti (EPFL, Lausanne, CH) - michele.ceriotti@epfl.ch
Mike Finnis (Imperial College, London, UK) - m.finnis@imperial.ac.uk

D3.2: Modelling of Microstructure and Grain Structure

Christophe Martin (Univ. Grenoble Alpes, FR) - Christophe.Martin@grenoble-inp.fr
Ingo Steinbach (Ruhr-Univ. Bochum, DE) - ingo.steinbach@ruhr-uni-bochum.de

D3.3: Materials Thermodynamics and Kinetics

George Kaptay (Bay Zoltán Nonprofit Ltd. for Applied Research, HU) - george.kaptay@bayzoltan.hu
Rainer Schmid-Fetzer (TU Clausthal, DE) - schmid-fetzer@tu-clausthal.de
Hans Seifert (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, KIT, DE) - hans.seifert@kit.edu

Area E: Energy and Environment

Area coordinators:
Brett Suddell (Biobased Solutions Ltd, UK) - brettsuddell@biobasedsolutions.co.uk

E1: Materials for Energy

Topic coordinators:
Stuart Irvine (CSER, Glyndŵr University, St Asaph, UK) - s.irvine@glyndwr.ac.uk

E1.1: Materials for Energy

Peter Flewitt (Univ. Bristol, UK) - Peter.Flewitt@bristol.ac.uk
Peter Hall (Univ. Sheffield, UK) - peter.hall@sheffield.ac.uk
Stuart Irvine (CSER, Glyndŵr University, St Asaph, UK) - s.irvine@glyndwr.ac.uk
Allan Walton (Univ. Birmingham, UK) - a.walton@bham.ac.uk
Trystan Watson (Univ. Swansea, UK) - t.m.watson@swansea.ac.uk

E2: Natural Materials

Topic coordinators:
Brett Suddell (Biobased Solutions Ltd, UK) - brettsuddell@biobasedsolutions.co.uk

E2.1: Natural Materials

Martin Ansell (Univ. Bath, UK) - M.P.Ansell@bath.ac.uk
Stuart Coles (Univ. Warwick, UK) - Stuart.Coles@warwick.ac.uk
Kerry Kirwan (Univ. Warwick, UK) - Kerry.Kirwan@warwick.ac.uk
Brett Suddell (Biobased Solutions Ltd, UK) - brettsuddell@biobasedsolutions.co.uk

E3: Materials for Transportation

Topic coordinators:
Michal Basista (IPPT, Polish Acad of Sciences, PL) - michal.basista@kmm-vin.eu

E3.1: Materials for Transportation

Michal Basista (IPPT, Polish Acad of Sciences, PL) - michal.basista@kmm-vin.eu
Jörg Hohe (Fraunhofer Inst. Mech. Materials IWM, Freiburg, DE) - joerg.hohe@iwm.fraunhofer.de

E4: Materials for Extreme Environments

Topic coordinators:
Bill Lee (Imperial College, London, UK) - w.e.lee@imperial.ac.uk
Luc Vandeperre (Imperial College, London, UK) - l.vandeperre@imperial.ac.uk

E4.1: Materials for Extreme Environments

Finn Giuliani (Imperial College, London, UK) - f.giuliani@imperial.ac.uk
Luc Vandeperre (Imperial College, London, UK) - l.vandeperre@imperial.ac.uk

Area F: Biomaterials and Healthcare

Area coordinators:
Francis Cambier (BCRC, Mons, BE) - f.cambier@bcrc.be
Laura Montanaro (Politecnico di Torino, IT) - laura.montanaro@polito.it

F1: New Frontiers in Biomaterials

Topic coordinators:
Jérôme Chevalier (Univ. Lyon, FR) - jerome.chevalier@insa-lyon.fr
Claudio Migliaresi (Univ. Trento, IT) - claudio.migliaresi@unitn.it
Frank Witte (Charité Medical Univ. Berlin, DE) - frank.witte@charite.de

F1.1: The Next Generation of Implants with Multi-functional Properties – Advances in the synthesis, process and surface modification of Biomaterials

Jérôme Chevalier (Univ. Lyon, FR) - jerome.chevalier@insa-lyon.fr
Claudio Migliaresi (Univ. Trento, IT) - claudio.migliaresi@unitn.it
Frank Witte (Charité Medical Univ. Berlin, DE) - frank.witte@charite.de

F2: Tissue Engineering; Regenerative Medicine; Nanomedicine and Drug Delivery

Topic coordinators:
Aldo R. Boccaccini (Univ. Erlangen-Nuremberg, DE) - aldo.boccaccini@ww.uni-erlangen.de
Elisabeth Engel (Inst. for Bioengineering of Catalonia, ES) - eengel@ibecbarcelona.eu
João Mano (Univ. Minho, PT) - jmano@dep.uminho.pt

F2.1: Materials in Regenerative Medicine, Nanomedicine and for Drug Delivery

Aldo R. Boccaccini (Univ. Erlangen-Nuremberg, DE) - aldo.boccaccini@ww.uni-erlangen.de
Elisabeth Engel (Inst. for Bioengineering of Catalonia, ES) - eengel@ibecbarcelona.eu
João Mano (Univ. Minho, PT) - jmano@dep.uminho.pt

F3: Materials and Devices for Emerging Healthcare Technologies

Topic coordinators:
Jolanta Baranowska (West Pomeranian Univ. Technology, Szczecin, PL) - Jolanta.Baranowska@zut.edu.pl
Steve Franklin (Philips, Eindhoven, NL) - s.e.franklin@philips.com
Karine Salim (PCAS, Paris, FR) - Karine.salim@pcas.com

F3.1: Materials Interactions with Human Tissue and Implications in Medical Device Design

Steve Franklin (Philips, Eindhoven, NL) - s.e.franklin@philips.com
Ruxandra Gref (Univ. Paris Sud, FR) - ruxandra.gref@u-psud.fr

F3.2: Materials and Strategies for the In-vitro Simulation of Human In-vivo Conditions

Jolanta Baranowska (West Pomeranian Univ. Technology, Szczecin, PL) - Jolanta.Baranowska@zut.edu.pl
Stéphane Hocquet (BCRC, Mons, BE) - s.hocquet@bcrc.be
Sheila MacNeil (Univ. Sheffield, UK) - s.macneil@sheffield.ac.uk

Area G: Education and Technology Transfer

Area coordinators:
Dr.-Ing. Margarethe Hofmann-Amtenbrink (MatSearch Consulting, Pully, Switzerland) - mhofmann@matsearch.ch

G1: Education and career

Topic coordinators:
Prof. Paloma Fernández (Departamento de Física de Materiales, Facultad de Ciencias Físicas, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Ciudad Universitaria, Madrid, Spain) - arana@fis.ucm.es

G2: The role of Research and Technology organizations in promoting Transfer of Materials Technologies

Topic coordinators:
Prof. Heinrich Hofmann (Institute of Materials, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Lausanne Switzerland) - heinrich.hofmann@epfl.ch

G3: Strategic Materials for Europe

Topic coordinators:
Dr.-Ing. Margarethe Hofmann-Amtenbrink (MatSearch Consulting, Pully, Switzerland) - mhofmann@matsearch.ch

G4: Relevance of Resources Strategies and Global Competition

Topic coordinators:
Dr. Christian Hagelüken (Umicore AG & Co. KG, Director EU Government Affairs, D-63403 Hanau Wolfgang) -